Community  |  Access-Network  |  Accessible Travel Resources  |  Wheelchair Travel Tips  |  Wheelchair Travel Blog  
scotland wheelchair vacation calendar
  Accessible Group Tours  |  Independent Wheelchair Travel  |  Wheelchair Accessible Cruises   |  Photo Gallery |  Site Map |  Contact
     
 

Accessible Scotland Home

Accessible self drive Scotland

Accessible Edinburgh Vacations

Accessible Glasgow Vacations

Accessible All Scotland Vacations

Accessible Ancestral Visits


Scotland wheelchair
Vacation Planning Calendar

Map of what to see in Scotland

Famous Scots

 

 
Scotland Wheelchair Vacation Calendar

Scotland supports wheelchair accessible tourism all year around, the challenge is deciding when to go, where to stay and what attractions to see.

Our Scotland wheelchair vacation planning calendar is a useful tool to assist wheelchair tourists to plan their wheelchair accessible vacation to Scotland in 2011.

Caerlaverock Castle

2011 Scotland Wheelchair Vacation Planning Calendar

When
Where
Who
January
   
01 – 31 Turner in January Edinburgh www.nationalgalleries.org
13 – 30 Celtic Connections Glasgow www.celticconnections.com
25 Burns’ Night All Scotland  
25 Up Helly Aa Shetland Islands www.celticconnections.com
February
   
12 Rugby 6 Nations, Scotland–Wales Edinburgh www.rbs6nations.com
14 – 19 Mar New Territories Glasgow www.newmoves.co.uk
17 – 27 Glasgow Film Festival Glasgow www.glasgowfilmfestival.org.uk
27 Rugby 6 Nations, Scotland–Ireland Edinburgh www.rbs6nations.com
March
   
05 – 17 Inverness Music Festival Inverness www.invernessmusicfestival.org
06 – 20 St Anza St Andrews www.stanzapoetry.org
17 – 10 April Glasgow International Comedy Festival Glasgow www.glasgowcomedyfestival.com
19 Rugby 6 Nations, Scotland–Italy Edinburgh www.rbs6nations.com
April
   
08 – 10 Orkney Ceilidh Weekend Orkney Islands www.orkneycommunities.co.uk/otda
09 Melrose Rugby 7s Tournament Melrose www.melrose7s.com
09 – 25 Edinburgh International Science Festival Edinburgh www.sciencefestival.co.uk
10 – 16 St Andrews Golf Week St Andrews www.standrewsgolfweek.com
15 – 16 Scottish Grand National Festival Ayr www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk
28 – 01 May Shetland Folk Festival Shetland Islands www.shetlandfolkfestival.com
28 – 02 May Spirit of Speyside Whisky Festival Speyside www.spiritofspeyside.com
29 – 01 May Girvan Folk Festival Ayrshire www.girvanfolkfestival.co.uk
30 Beltane Fire Festival Edinburgh www.beltane.org
22/25 Good Friday / Easter Scotland  
May
   
May – Sept Highland Games Highlands www.visitscotland.com
19 – 29 Perth Festival of the Arts Perth www.perthfestival.co.uk
21 Scottish Pipe Band Championships Dumbarton www.rspba.org
21 – 28 Islay Festival of Malt and Music Isle of Islay www.islayfestival.org
21 – 29 Dumfries & Galloway Arts Festival Dumfries & Galloway www.dgartsfestival.org.uk
22 Edinburgh Marathon Edinburgh www.edinburgh-marathon.com
26 – 29 Orkney Folk Festival Orkney Islands www.orkneyfolkfestival.com
28 – 29 Edinburgh Rugby 7s Tournament Edinburgh www.edinburgh7s.com
June
   
02 – 05 Angus Glens Walking Festival Angus www.angusahead.com/walkingfestival
03 – 05 Gardening Scotland Edinburgh www.gardeningscotland.com
04 Taste of Grampian Inverurie www.tasteofgrampian.co.uk
04 – 05 UCI Mountain Bike World Cup Fort William www.fortwilliamworldcup.co.uk
10 – 12 Rock Ness Music Festival Inverness www.rockness.co.uk
12 Ardrossan Highland Games Ardrossan www.ardrossanhighlandgames.org.uk
15 – 26 Edinburgh International Film Festival Edinburgh www.edfilmfest.org.uk
23 – 26 Royal Highland Show Edinburgh www.royalhighlandshow.org
25 British Pipe Band Championships Dumfriesshire www.rspba.org
25 – 08 Jedburgh Callants Festival Jedburgh www.jethartcallantsfestival.com
July
   
01 – 03 Game Conservancy Scottish Fair Scone Palace www.scottishfair.com
03 – 08 Ceòlas Music Festival Outer Hebrides www.ceolas.co.uk
07 – 10 Golf Scottish Open Loch Lomond www.barclaysscottishopen.co.uk
08 – 10 T in the Park Music Festival Kinross www.tinthepark.com
09 – 10 Scottish Vintage Vehicle Extravaganza Glamis Castle www.glamis-castle.co.uk
13 – 16 Hebridean Celtic Festival Outer Hebrides www.hebceltfest.com
25 – 30 Inverness Tattoo Inverness www.tattooinverness.org.uk
27 – 06 Aberdeen International Youth Festival Aberdeen www.aiyf.org
29 – 31 Loch Lomond Folk Festival Balloch www.lomondfolkfestival.com
29 – 07 Edinburgh International Jazz & Blues Festival Edinburgh www.edinburghjazzfestival.co.uk
August
   
05 – 27 Edinburgh Royal Military Tattoo Edinburgh www.edintattoo.co.uk
05 – 28 Edinburgh Festival Fringe Edinburgh www.edfringe.com
06 – 14 Pittenweem Arts Festival Fife www.pittenweemartsfestival.co.uk
12 – 04 Edinburgh International Festival Edinburgh www.eif.co.uk
13 World Pipe Band Championships Glasgow www.rspba.org
13 – 29 Edinburgh International Book Festival Edinburgh www.edbookfest.co.uk
18 – 21 Blair Castle Intl Horse Trials and Country Fair Blair Atholl www.blairhorsetrials.co.uk
25 – 27 Cowal Highland Gathering Dunoon www.cowalgathering.com
September
   
02 – 04 Edinburgh Mela Edinburgh www.edinburgh-mela.co.uk
03 Braemar Gathering Braemar www.braemargathering.org
03 – 11 Blas Festival Highlands www.blas-festival.com
10 RAF Leuchars Airshow St Andrews www.airshow.co.uk
15 – 18 Ayr Gold Cup Festival Ayr www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk
23 – 25 Dunbar Traditional Music Festival Dunbar www.dtmf.dunbar.org.uk
23 – 02 The Wigtown Book Festival Dumfries & Galloway www.wigtownbookfestival.com
October
   
02 Inverness Marathon Inverness www.lochnessmarathon.com
28 – 06 Nov, The Dougie MacLean Festival Perthshire www.perthshireamber.com
29 Glenfiddich Piping Championships Blair Atholl www.glenfiddich.com
30 Glenfiddich Fiddle Championships Blair Atholl www.glenfiddich.com
31 Samhuinn Festival Edinburgh www.beltane.org
November
   
24 – 25 Dec Edinburgh’s Christmas Edinburgh www.edinburghschristmas.com
December
   
01 – 25 Christmas Markets All Scotland  
25 Christmas Day All Scotland  
31 Edinburgh’s Hogmanay Edinburgh www.edinburghshogmanay.com
31 Glasgow’s Hogmanay Glasgow www.winterfestglasgow.com
31 Hogmanay All Scotland www.visitscotland.com
31 The Flambeaux Perthshire www.comrie.org.uk
31 Stonehaven Fireball Festival Stonehaven www.stonehavenfireballs.co.uk


For more details on planning your wheelchair accessible vacation in Scotland, email Accessible Journeys EMAIL us HERE


November through March

November through March are cold and the skies are overcast, however as the weather worsens the partying and warm Scottish hospitality increases. The usual tourist hotspots are quieter while the normally quiet Highlands gets plenty of visitors around Scotland's ski resorts.

April
April is the seasonal beginning of mainstream tourism. Most attractions, tourist offices and guesthouses often open for business on Easter weekend. Transportation and attractions that did stay open during the winter usually reduce their hours.

May
May will have fewer crowds and mild temperatures. Weather in the Highlands can be unpredictable.

June, July, August
The weather during summer days of June July and August is generally mild and warm and but daylight lingers until 9 PM or later. August is Festival-time in Edinburgh and everything is hard to come by. Summer time also hosts the Highland Games, folk festivals or sporting events that concentrate in small local area making driving times and schedules unpredictable.

September
September like May will have fewer crowds and mild temperatures. Weather in the Highlands can be unpredictable. Fall foliage colors are spectacular but September is deer season over parts of the Highlands and access is limited.

October
October is the seasonal close of mainstream tourism. Most attractions, tourist offices and guesthouses close down for the season in mid-October. Transportation and attractions that stay open usually reduce their hours.

 

TOP OF PAGE

 

Copyright © 2016, Accessible Journeys, Inc. All rights reserved.